Vega State Park

I recently went to Vega State Park for the first time ever. Eeeeeeeever, it is at the base of Grand Mesa south west of Grand Junction. I chose this because it was a location far removed from any light pollution and is relatively high enough in elevation without it still being in winter mode (oh like the top of Grand Mesa is). the combination of the two make for some extremely dark skies. The disadvantage was the half moon, I decided on staying to well after moonset which was close to 2 AM

_MG_3942

The sky itself was dark enough even with the half moon that once the moon got low enough in the sky the Milky Way was still quite visible as you can tell with the image below as the moon was still casting shadows on the pier.

_MG_3923

I also had recently purchased the Canon Rebel T2i (550D) as a small light weight backup top my 5D MKii and I REALLY wanted to see how well a consumer grade Dslr from Canon fared at night photography, I had not shot a camera like that since the xti days (now that is a long time)

_MG_4742

Golden-Ratio

_MG_4746

As you can tell, not too bad. The vertical one was shot with the 24-105 F4 lens at 6400 ISO. Perhaps a little too much for the camera to handle cleanly, but I was pleasantly surprised at the performance of a $200 consumer grade camera though I would not shoot it at 6400 ISO, even with heavy noise reduction with either Topaz Denoise or NIKs Dfine software was I able to cleaned up the noise enough for my tastes.

To be honest with that one test, once the moon had set and it was getting extremely dark. Dark enough for air glow to become quite apparent (see my previous blog post), I ended up putting the Rebel away and worked strictly with the much better low light performing 5D camera with the 14mm F2.8 Rokinon where I could comfortably shoot at 3200 ISOs and much higher and shoot up to 35 second exposures without much star trailing

I will leave with this last image taken with my 5D and compare it to the photo immediately above from my t2i and let you see the difference. Let me what you think of the low light performance of these consumer grade camera. Of course, all of which while using proper techniques

_MG_3923

Author: paulscoloradophotography

Nature and landscape photographer from Denver metro, Colorado. I also do extensive urban and night time photography. I originally started photography as a means to document my climbs of Colorado's many high mountain peaks, then it evolved from there. The biggest thing about landscape photography is being in nature and capturing those short lived and sublime moments that occur. There is nothing quite like being at a mountain lake feeling that cold mountain air, looking up at those dramatic peaks and spires, or being up late at night looking up at the incredible amount of stars visible from the Earth, something that very few people are able to experience any more this is the true source of my inspiration. I have had several gallery showings including with the Denver Photo Art Gallery owned by renowned nature photographer John Fielder, and a two week exhibit during the Democratic National Convention. I currently have 2 books out in collaboration with other people, plus working on a 3rd one about Loveland Pass region, this last one is still an ongoing project. Plus I have been published from other sources including Smith Southwestern and am a regular contributor in stock with Shutterstock and Dreamstime. I have had large scale corporate sales and numerous individual sales of my photos. This includes numerous photos with the Plenary Group and photos in the home of a well known actor

Leave a Reply

